New Book Series Follows Families through American History

Posted on August 23, 2012 by Bobby Bernshausen | 0 Comments

The second book in the Diane McAdams Gladow series, A Journey of Voices: Stewards of the Land, follows the Crume family through seven generations of rich American history.

Gladow’s A Journey of Voices series begins with book one, A Journey of Voices: Chasing the Frontier, and continues with Stewards of the Land  tracing common, ordinary families through letters, pictures, land documents, Bible records, and historical references with accounts on the family’s lives and movement through generations.

While the first book in the series focused on the lineage of the Jordan family, the second installment charts the whereabouts in history of the Crume family. Whether it be flatboating down the Ohio River, building homes in the wilderness, fighting in the American Revolution, enduring the Civil War in a border state, dealing with Indians in Texas, surviving the Great Depression and Dust Bowl, or experiencing two world wars, this family will continue to surprise and challenge readers to look at history in a completely new way.

Diane McAdams Gladow is a former English Composition instructor at Emporia State University, heading the Emporia Literacy Program and working for the University’s Grammar Hotline. She has authored two other books, one a memoir of her husband’s family, Rich Heritage, and the other the first book in the A Journey of Voices series, Chasing the Frontier.

A Journey of Voices: Stewards of the Land is available in softcover (ISBN 978-1-62137-075-8) from,, and This book can also be ordered from most bookstores around the United States and United Kingdom. More information can be found at the author’s website,

Posted in Authors and the Media, Press Releases



Leave a Reply

Comments will be approved before showing up.